Skip links

Chakra 101

As a continuation from my previous post on explaining what Thymus Chakra is, I would like to share in this blog the types of chakras that play an important role in the balance and health of our bodies. If you are still trying to grasp the importance of chakras, let me share with you that the entire universe is made of energy, and your body is no exception. That said, chakra is the centre of vital life force, located on the human spine. Read the article and find out what you should know about chakras and their meanings. 

In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel” and it refers to the energy point in our bodies.

If you have attended yoga classes before, I am sure you have heard about unlocking and energizing your Chakras in your body. 

Before you do so, I’d like to help you understand what chakras are and their meanings. 

To begin with, chakras had only become more popular due to widespread adoption of yoga and New Age philosophies. In short, they are a complex and ancient energy system that came from India as chakras were mentioned in the Vedas – a religious and sacred Sanskrit texts written from 1500 to 1000 BC.

So, what is chakra? In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel” and it refers to the energy point in our bodies. It is to be believed that chakras are to be the spinning disk of energy in us that should remain “open” and aligned as they are connected to our nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic bodies that affect both our emotional and physical well-being.

In our bodies, there are seven chakras that run down our spine and each of them has a matching number, name, colour, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus. 

Here are the 7 Chakras with their location, colour and meaning:

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Location: Base of the spine, at the tailbone area

Colour: Red

Meaning: Physical identity, stability, and grounding

It is said that a blocked and unbalanced root chakra could manifest physical issues such as constipation, arthritis and bladder or colon problems, or emotionally through insecurities about finances, basic needs, and well-being. 

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana Chakra)

Location: Below the navel and just above pubic bone

Colour: Orange

Meaning: Sexuality, pleasure, creativity

Physical problems linked to a blocked and unbalanced sacral chakra include urinary tract infection, lower back pain, and impotency. In terms of emotional issues, the sacral chakra is attached to our feeling of self-worth in the areas of pleasure, sexuality, and creativity.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)

Location: The upper abdomen – in the stomach area

Colour: Yellow

Meaning: Self-esteem and confidence

When our third chakra is blocked or unbalanced, we often would experience digestive problems like ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders and indigestion. This chakra is where we draw our personal power, hence it is connected to our self-esteem and confidence.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

Location: The centre of the chest, just above the heart

Colour: Green

Meaning: Love and compassion

If our heart chakra is blocked or unbalanced, what would manifest in our physical health would be heart-related issues, asthma, and weight issues. 

However, blocks can be often be noticed through one’s action – those with their heart chakra blocked, they tend to often put others first and to their own detriment. The heart chakra is the middle of the seven others; hence it serves as the connector between our upper and lower chakras. In addition, it represents our capability to love and connect with other. So, when it is out of alignment, we would feel lonely, insecure, isolated.

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)

Location: The throat

Colour: Blue

Meaning: Communication

The throat chakra is obviously linked to our ability in verbal communication. Voice and throat, including dental and mouth issues are indications of a blockage. At the same time, blocks can be seen through dictating a conversation, gossiping, speaking without thinking and having trouble speaking your mind. However, once aligned, you will be able to speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you speak as you know you are being true to yourself with words.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)

Location: Between the eyes, on the forehead also known as the “brow chakra”

Colour: Indigo

Meaning: Intuition and imagination

As the Third Eye Chakra is located on our heads, blockages would bring upon headaches, difficulty to concentrate, sight and hearing problems. In terms of emotional blockage, a person would have trouble listening to reality (a person who thinks to “know it all”) or is unable to get in touch with their intuition.  When the Third Eye Chakra is open, balance and aligned, one would be able to follow their intuition and see the big picture.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)

Location: At the top of the head

Colour: Violet or white

Meaning: Awareness and intelligence

The Crown Chakra is connected to all the other chakras, so it affects all the organs as well as the brain and nervous system. It is to believe that the Crown Chakra is the chakra of enlightenment and it represents our connection to one’s life purpose and spirituality. When one’s Crown Chakra is blocked, he/she may seem to be narrow-minded, sceptical, or stubborn. However, when the chakra is open, it would help keep all the other chakras open and to bring one to both bliss and enlightenment. The Crown Chakra is also where we draw infinite intelligence from the Universe. 

Having that said, these 7 Chakras are all of the energetic centres in our body that are link to our feelings. And if one (or more) of them can relate to you, I’d like to invite you on a journey where I will guide and help you balance and align your chakras to bring you to your own journey of self-realization, enlightenment and bliss.


Michael Teh, 1st November 2020.

Michael Teh is a meditation coach devoted to a personal mission of awakening more people to higher consciousness. He teaches self-realization through meditation, qigong, yoga and philosophy. Michael Teh Signature Workshop: The Essence of Life Series explores meditation as a powerful tool to realize our true potential. Michael has designed multiple workshops in this series to support his participants’ self-realization journey. Workshop Series 1 is currently running every few months on-ground in Kuala Lumpur, titled “Knowledge of The Self and Fundamentals of Meditation. Be sure to follow Michael’s social media channels and website for more updates: FB: IG:   Website: